## April 4, 2023

The Board of Supervisors met at 9:00 o'clock A.M. with Ty Rosburg, chairman presiding. Members present were Schultz, Dozark, Rosburg, and Muhlbauer. Heiden attended via Zoom at 9:10 o'clock A.M.

Minutes of the previous meetings were read and approved.

The Board approved the change of wage for Derek Hoyle, Construction Employee II, in Engineer Department.

The Board approved the change of wage for Damon Crampton, Maintenance Employee II, in Engineer Department.

A motion was made by Dozark, seconded by Schultz to approve the following resolution:

## **RESOLUTION #2023-19**

the victors of Crowford County and come cities within the county have victed to exact a 1 cent I coal Ontion Calca Tay in

WHEREAS,	accordance with Iowa Code 423B, and
WHEREAS,	the revenue derived from the tax is used for road and bridge improvements, public safety facilities, and property tax relief, and
WHEREAS,	the residents of Crawford County have grown to rely on these revenues as a means to reduce property taxes, and
WHEREAS,	the 2023 legislative session has seen the introduction of SF 550, which proposes to convert the Local Option Sales Tax efforts into a statewide sales tax and impose the local option sales tax in every jurisdiction, thereby triggering the constitutional amendment to require an allocation of 3/8th of a cent to the Iowa Water and Land Legacy (IWLL) trust fund, and
WHEREAS,	SF 550 proposed to backfill revenues lost due to the proposal, there are concerns of the Legislature ability to continue backfilling revenues, and
WHEREAS,	voters across Iowa who have voted to either implement a local option sales tax or not to do so, and
WHEREAS,	voters across Iowa who have voted to utilize the local option sales tax have approved revenue purpose statements (RPS), and
WHEREAS,	SF 550 also sunsets these provisions on January 1, 2025, after which no jurisdiction will have the authority to take either a LOST proposal or revenue purpose statement to a vote, essentially deleting the local government's ability to have local option sales taxes.

THEREFORE, the Crawford County Board of Supervisors would like to express their support of the current Local Option Sales Tax. The current law best represents the interest of voters and furthers the reduction of property taxes, which is a common goal of the County and the lowa Legislature. SF 550 as currently written, would not only strip the County of control over Local Option Sales Tax (LOST) revenues, but would effectively disregard the will of the Voters.

Voting Aye: Heiden, Rosburg, Schultz, Dozark and Muhlbauer. Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Schultz, seconded by Muhlbauer to approve the rental agreement with InRoads LLC for the rental of the Secondary Roads Schleswig Maintenance Yard to be used as an Asphalt batch plant site for the 2023 construction season.

Motion was passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Schultz, seconded by Dozark to approve the Secondary Road Department IDOT Budget and 5-year program for FY ending June 30, 2024.

Motion was passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Muhlbauer, seconded by Dozark to approve the National Public Health Week Proclamation, April 3-April 9, 2023.

Motion was passed unanimously.

Kim Larson, Imagination Station Director, and Mike Pardun, Superintendent of Denison School District, had a discussion with the Board about ARPA Funds for the Imagination Station.

A motion was made by Muhlbauer, seconded by Rosburg to update the authorized signatures for Farm Service Company, to Kyle Schultz and Craig Dozark.

Motion was passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Muhlbauer, seconded by Heiden to approve a credit card for the Crawford County Attorney.

Motion was passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Schultz, seconded by Dozark to approve the OCIO MOU and Tyler Contract Amendment.

Motion was passed unanimously.

On motion duly seconded the Board adjourned at 11:15 o'clock A.M.

Agendas for the next meeting are posted and available at the Cour	rthouse on Friday at 4:30 o'clock P.M. preceding the next meeting.
County Auditor	Chairperson